With Loom, you can share a view-only link to a public folder containing one or multiple videos.
Public folders are particularly useful for sharing information with your entire team or customers. Examples of groups of videos that tend to deliver more value in a public folder include:
- Team Training & New Teammate Onboarding
- Customer Onboarding
- New Product Demos
- Daily Team Updates & Meeting Notes
How to share a folder?
There are two ways to create a public folder from your My Videos page:
- Clicking on the "New Public Folder" button on the top right side of your dashboard;
- Clicking the "share" button on a private folder to create a public link, as seen below:
Once you click on this icon, a new sharing modal will appear containing the public link to the folder you chose to share:
Once the modal appears, the folder is in sharing mode. However, it is only accessible by other people if they have access to the public link.
The public link grants access to the folder's content without requiring sign-in.
In this modal you can:
- Copy the link to the folder you would like to share;
- Unshare the folder.
How to unshare a folder?
You can bring back the sharing modal at any time by clicking on the "share" icon in each folder.
If the folder is currently in sharing mode, you will see a "Unshare" button. Clicking it will instantly unshare the folder and prevent anyone from further accessing its contents.
Once unshared, the folder will remain inaccessible until you decide to share it again in the future.
How do I know which folders are shared?
Each shared folder will have a distinguishable icon representing their shared status.
What is the difference between Private and Public folders?
Private folders and their contents are only accessible by you, the account owner.
A public folder is accessibly by anyone who has the public link associated with the folder. Other users can't modify the contents of the folder and they can only watch the videos in the folder itself and in any sub-folder.